HIPAA- Health Insurance Portability And Accountability Act Awareness Course

HIPAA- Health Insurance Portability And Accountability Act Awareness Course

Course #: UASC-HC-121-A 1

Course Duration: 1 Hours

Course Description:

This is a comprehensive HIPAA awareness course is designed to inform healthcare professionals and business associates in every practice setting of patient privacy and security rights according to federal HIPAA guidelines. HIPAA compliance will protect not only the patient’s health information, but it will ensure trust and willingness for the patient to communicate with health care professionals.

The goal of this course is to provide the means to comply with federal HIPAA Privacy and Security requirements, how to stay compliant with HIPAA guidelines on a daily basis, and to inform healthcare professionals of the consequences for non-compliance of these rules.

This course addresses important HIPAA requirements for maintaining the Privacy and Security of Sensitive Information and Protected Health Information (PHI) within a healthcare facility.

Course Topics:

  • Analyze the components of the Privacy and Security rules.
  • Distinguish Health Insurance Privacy and Portability Act (HIPAA) identifiers that create Protected Health Information (PHI).
  • Interpret HIPAA risk of breaches.
  • Analyze how HIPAA compliance breaches occur.
  • Explain HIPAA non-compliance reporting of breaches.
  • Compare and contrast the civil and criminal penalties for HIPAA violations.
  • Advocate for patient’s rights to privacy of personal and medical information.

Who Should Attend:

Anyone who has access to Protected Health Information (PHI)

Regulatory Requirements:

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), Public Law 104-191 The Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act 45 CFR Part 160, 162 and Part 164, Subparts A and E.

Additional Details:

No details provided.

Upcoming Dates:

No details provided.

Service Locations:

Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland & DC